Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Rules Specialist Group Opinions

Rules Specialist Group Opinions

The Rules Specialist Group (“RSG”) is a group of Racing Rules experts who are tasked to answer Racing Rules questions for Australian Sailing. This group was created by the National Racing Rules and Officials Committee. The answers provided by the RSG are opinions of this specialist group and are not authoritative interpretations of the Racing Rules. 

The Group is comprised of International and National Umpires and Judges who volunteer their time and knowledge to help the sport of sailing. 

The current members of the Rules Specialist Group are:

  • John Standley
  • David Brookes
  • Steven Hatch
  • Richard Slater
  • Damien Boldyrew
  • Ed Vincent
  • Phillipe Mazard


Below is the list of responses from the RSG that Australian Sailing covering a range of topics